Skip to content

Dwight Tech Watch

***Playoff Technicals***

Date Opponent Result Pts/Reb Tech Count
16-Apr Atlanta Hawks L 46-19 1
22-Apr Atlanta Hawks L 21-15 2
28-Apr Atlanta Hawks L 25-15 3

You receive a one game suspension after reaching your 7th technical foul in the playoffs.

Check back throughout the season to keep track of Dwight Howard’s technical foul accumulation.

Date Opponent Result Pts/Reb Tech Count
29-Oct Miami Heat (Away) L 19-7 1
3-Nov Minnesota Timberwolves W 18-16 2 Rescinded
8-Nov Atlanta Hawks W 27-11 2
10-Nov Utah Jazz L 14-9 3
12-Nov Toronto Raptors L 25-8 4
20-Nov Indiana Pacers (Away) W 25-12 5 Rescinded
22-Nov San Antonio Spurs (Away) L 26-18 5
27-Nov Washington Wizards (Away) W 32-11 6
14-Dec Denver Nuggets (Away) L 21-14 7
20-Dec Atlanta Hawks (Away) L 19-20 8
23-Dec San Antonio Spurs W 29-14 9
25-Dec Boston Celtics W 6-11 10
27-Dec New Jersey Nets (Away) W 19-13 11
30-Dec New York Knicks (Away) W 24-18 12 Rescinded
12-Jan New Orleans Hornets (Away) L 29-20 12
19-Jan Philadelphia 76ers W 18-7 13 Rescinded
31-Jan Memphis Grizzlies L 25-14 13
6-Feb Boston Celtics (Away) L 28-13 14
25-Feb Oklahoma City Thunder W 40-15 15
4-Mar Chicago Bulls L 20-10 16
28-Mar New York Knicks (Away) L 29-18 17
6-Apr Charlotte Bobcats (Away) W 15-7 18
18

Averages: 22.8 points per game and 13 rebounds per game when receiving a technical.

W-L: 11-11

Home: 9

Away: 13

Section VII of the Official NBA Rule Handbook (page 42)

Fines
a. The following progressive technical foul and ejection schedules will apply.
(1) REGULAR SEASON
Technical Fouls 1-5: $1,000 fine each
Technical Fouls 6-10: $1,500 fine each
Technical Fouls 11-15: $2,000 fine each (with a warning letter sent when the violator reaches his 12th technical foul)
Technical Foul 16: $2,500 fine plus one-game suspension
Each Additional Technical Foul: $2,500 fine
Each Two Additional Technical Fouls
(18, 20, 22, etc.): $2,500 fine plus one-game suspension
(2) PLAYOFFS
Technical Fouls 1-2: $1,000 fine each
Technical Fouls 3-4: $1,500 fine each
Technical Fouls 5-6: $2,000 fine each (with a warning letter sent when the violator reaches his 5th technical foul)
Technical Foul 7: $2,500 fine plus one-game suspension
Each Additional Technical Foul: $2,500 fine
Each Two Additional Technical Fouls (9, 11, 13, etc.): $2,500 fine plus one-game suspension
(3) EJECTIONS
First Ejection: $1,000
Each Subsequent Ejection: Player’s last ejection fine plus $1,000
All players will revert to the $1,000 ejection level for the playoffs.
b. Whether or not said player(s) is ejected, a fine not exceeding $50,000 and/or suspension
may be imposed upon such player(s) by the Commissioner at his sole discretion.
c. During an altercation, all players not participating in the game must remain in the
immediate vicinity of their bench. Violators will be suspended, without pay, for a minimum
of one game and fined up to $50,000.
The suspensions will commence prior to the start of their next game.
A team must have a minimum of eight players dressed and ready to play in every game.
If five or more players leave the bench, the players will serve their suspensions alphabetically,
according to the first letters of their last name.
If seven bench players are suspended (assuming no participants are included), four of
them would be suspended for the first game following the altercation. The remaining three
would be suspended for the second game following the altercation.
d. A player, coach or assistant coach, upon being notified by an official that he has been
ejected from the game, must leave the playing area IMMEDIATELY and remain in the dressing
room of his team during such suspension until completion of the game or leave the
building. Violation of this rule shall call for an automatic fine of $500. A fine not to exceed
$50,000 and possible forfeiture of the game may be imposed for any violation of this rule.
e. Any player who in the opinion of the officials has deliberately hung on the basket
ring shall be assessed a non-unsportsmanlike technical foul and a fine of $500.
EXCEPTION: An offensive or defensive player may hang on the basket ring, backboard
or support to prevent an injury to himself or another player, with no penalty.
f. At halftime and the end of each game, the coach and his players are to leave the court
and go directly to their dressing room, without pause or delay. There is to be absolutely no
talking to game officials.
PENALTY—$500 fine to be doubled for any additional violation.
g. Any player who is assessed a flagrant foul—penalty (2) must be ejected and will be
fined a minimum of $1,000. The incident will be reported to the League Office.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: