Skip to content

Dwight Howard, an Orlando Magic player, named to the 2010-2011 All-NBA First Team

May 12, 2011

Photo taken by Fernando Medina.

Dwight Howard, the recipient of the 2010-11 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, highlights the 2010-11 All-NBA First Team, the NBA announced today. Joining Howard on the First Team are Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers, Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder, Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls and LeBron James of the Miami Heat.

Unofficially, Dwight Howard and Kobe Bryant became the first pair of teammates to be named First Team All-NBA since Kobe and Shaq.

Howard, an All-NBA First Team selection for the fourth consecutive season, earned the 2010-11 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, becoming the first player to win the award three straight seasons. He led the league with 66 double-doubles, while ranking second in rebounds (14.1 rpg) and fourth in blocks (2.38 bpg). Howard also averaged a career-high 22.9 points.

The All-NBA Second Team consists of guards Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat and Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder, forwards Pau Gasol of the Los Angeles Lakers and Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks, and center Amar’e Stoudemire of the New York Knicks.

The All-NBA Third Team includes the San Antonio Spurs’ Manu Ginobili and the New Orleans Hornets’ Chris Paul at guard, the Portland Trail Blazers’ LaMarcus Aldridge and the Memphis Grizzlies’ Zach Randolph at forward, and the Atlanta Hawks’ Al Horford at center.

The All-NBA Teams were chosen by a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. The media voted for All-NBA First, Second and Third Teams by position with points awarded on a 5-3-1 basis.

Below are the results of the voting for the 2010-11 All-NBA Teams, with First Team votes in parentheses:


Position                            Player, Team (1st Team Votes)                        Points

Forward                           LeBron James, Miami (119)                              595

Forward                           Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City (69)                  492

Center                             Dwight Howard, Orlando (118)                       593

Guard                              Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers (98)                           551

Guard                              Derrick Rose, Chicago (118)                            593


Position                            Player, Team (1st Team Votes)                        Points

Forward                           Pau Gasol, L.A. Lakers (2)                                 259

Forward                           Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas (47)                                   437

Center                             Amar’e Stoudemire, New York (2)                 258

Guard                              Dwyane Wade, Miami (24)                              392

Guard                              Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City                 184


Position                            Player, Team (1st Team Votes)                        Points

Forward                           LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland                          135

Forward                           Zach Randolph, Memphis                                67

Center                             Al Horford, Atlanta                                             62

Guard                              Manu Ginobili, San Antonio                             106

Guard                              Chris Paul, New Orleans                                   157     

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first team votes in parentheses): Rajon Rondo, Boston, 68; Paul Pierce, Boston, 55; Carmelo Anthony, Denver-New York, 53; Kevin Love, Minnesota, 48; Tim Duncan, San Antonio, 43; Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers, 36; Tony Parker, San Antonio, 27; Kevin Garnett, Boston, 22; Deron Williams, Utah-New Jersey 19; Steve Nash, Phoenix, 17; Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee, 13; Monta Ellis, Golden State, 11; Nene, Denver, 11; Andrew Bynum, L.A. Lakers, 9; Kevin Martin, Houston, 7; Tyson Chandler, Dallas, 7; Joakim Noah, Chicago, 5; Marc Gasol, Memphis, 3; Al Jefferson, Utah, 3; Kendrick Perkins, Boston-Oklahoma City, 3; Andrea Bargnani, Toronto, 2; Chris Bosh, Miami, 2; Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia, 1; Emeka Okafor, New Orleans, 1; Eric Gordon, L.A. Clippers, 1; Gerald Wallace, Charlotte-Portland, 1; Jason Kidd, Dallas, 1; Luis Scola, Houston, 1; Luol Deng, Chicago, 1;  Ray Allen, Boston, 1

You can follow  Magic Basketball Online on Twitter and add MBO on Facebook to get the latest story updates!  You can now download the MBO app in the Android Marketplace by searching for Magic Basketball Online.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: